Folders and Cups

My row of table baskets.

My row of table baskets.

I spent most of my day putting together my table folders and supplies. Something that I am using this year is setting up groups. Something that I have struggled against is time. Not enough time to set up clean up and then have the next group come in and be ready. Even though I am at a middle school; I’m using a technique I used as an elementary art teacher:

I will have a folder for each table group for each class. I have a large poster board paper that I folded in half and then taped the size. I have used teacher rolled paper (very thin) before and it doesn’t last as long (one about a year). Each folder will have a smaller folder for each middle school student (they make their own.) six classes x 8 table groups = 48 folders (these will last a while and I won’t need to do this many next year). Each class is labeled by their hour and then their table name.

I also went to the Dollar store and picked up baskets for each table group. What is slick about this year is that I labeled everything with the table name. I also included fun facts about the artist on the glass to hold the markers, and quotes from three quotes from artist on the crayon holder. This took some time. I did use a black sharpie marker. If I made a mistake I would just use a dry erase marker to fix it.

IMG_9405Here are the artists I used for my table groups. I picked these because they are my favorites.

  • Stan Lee
  • Vincent Van Gogh
  • Ansel Adams
  • Chuck Close
  • Frida Kahlo
  • Georgia O’Keeffe
  • Faith Ringgold
  • Sandy Skoglund

IMG_9404Then on each cup I included the following:

  • Date of Birth
  • Place of Birth
  • Country
  • Death (If they had died I put a date; otherwise, it is blank.)
  • 3-4 fun facts about the artist

I am going to be using these cups as time fillers. For example, if I have two extra minutes (which is rarity, we work up to the last second)I will ask the class questions about an artist and say…”which artist was born on….?” That group will get to line up first. I’m in the basement and they want to be first up those stairs. It’s a big deal.

A couple of reasons to put fun facts on the cups:

  • Student will read about their artist and not even know they are finding out information
  • Students will be reading (a sneaky way to incorporate literacy)
  • Students will learn something new
  • It is something different

It took a good three hours to put together the folders and table supplies. By having the baskets it will save time for set up and clean up.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

Leave a Reply

