On your mark, get set, Go!

I’ve set up my classroom and I’m ready to start the year. I’m exhausted after all of that work. There is also no air in my classroom and it was 90 or so degrees with a high humidity. So this post is mostly pictures. My room is set up for both my reading essentials class this fall trimester and art class for second and third. I will not be starting my second trimester due to maternity leave so I hung the materials now while I still can.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

This is my before picture.

This is my before picture.

This is three days later.

This is three days later.

Outside of my door.  I am using a CSI theme for my classroom.  We will investigate text.

Outside of my door. I am using a CSI theme for my classroom. We will investigate text.

The inside of my door. Everybody needs a Van Gogh!

The inside of my door. Everybody needs a Van Gogh!

On the outside of my classroom.  This is to help students be prepared and not continually ask me what do we need today.

On the outside of my classroom. This is to help students be prepared and not continually ask me what do we need today.

Yep, it's a toilet seat cover.  This works wonders.  Stops unnecessary bathroom breaks.  It's a real toilet seat (clean) from the girls bathroom.

Yep, it’s a toilet seat cover. This works wonders. Stops unnecessary bathroom breaks. It’s a real toilet seat (clean) from the girls’ bathroom.

One of three my mini storage closets.  All my furniture is used, except the desks.

One of three my mini storage closets. All my furniture is used, except the desks.

Probably the only time this will be clean all year.  A place where I never actually sit.

Probably the only time this will be clean all year. A place where I never actually sit.

My reading strategy posters I made.

Posters I made with reading strategies.

Bins to organize students folders (which we will call tool boxes) that hold reading strategies.

Bins to organize students folders (which we will call tool boxes) that hold reading strategies.

I don't have shades.  So to keep the direct light out I put up tissue paper and electric tape.  The black lines are part of the original window.

I don’t have shades. So to keep the direct light out I put up tissue paper and electric tape. The black lines are part of the original window.

Bookshelf with many children's art books, games, puzzles, teacher made textbooks, and soft building blocks (middle school boys love the blocks)

Bookshelf with many children’s art books, games, puzzles, teacher made textbooks, and soft building blocks (middle school boys love the blocks)

Each week students will learn 5 new vocabulary  words.  I took old clip boards, covered in duck tape and then used velcro to attach the board to the wall.

Each week students will learn 5 new vocabulary words. I took old clip boards, covered them in duck tape and then used Velcro to attach the board to the wall.

My classroom expectations, the paper is faded after years of use.

My classroom expectations, the paper is faded after years of use.

If you look at the clock it's not digital.  I put the numbers around the clock because I have students that struggle with telling time.

If you look at the clock it’s not digital. I put the numbers around the clock because I have students that struggle with telling time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

