52 Paintings: Week 27

Greetings,

I have been working on lesson plans for eighth grade and came across a pin on Pinterest from an interesting artist: Leslie DeRose.  I found that it would work for a student lesson on radial balance.  So I thought I would try it out and see if it would work.  Normally, I would post this to teachers pay teachers; however, I can use the information for school purposes but not to sell. The art making is part of the bigger picture.  I had students look at a variety of artwork pieces and they were to answer questions about the artwork in reference to a particular element of art or principles of design.   Then they are to imitate DeRose’s project while adding their own flare to the project.  I thought I would try it out.  I learned some things along the way.

  • Using a real map and Yes paste on a canvas makes wrinkles.
  • Don’t use a sharpie to outline your project. (I did this so it would show up in the lesson plans for my sub).
  • You need to have patience and a small brush.

Overall, the painting served the purpose as being an example. So I am happy with that fact.  It’s not my cup of tea but the idea intrigues me.  I will leave the map using to DeRose.

Here is what I did:

Map that has been glued

Map that has been glued

First I glued a map to an old used canvas with Yes glue.

Drawn Bike on MapThen using a 2B pencil drew the contour of a bike, making sure to get the radial balance of the tires.  Next time I would use a darker pencil and wait for the glue to dry.

I then outlined it in sharpie (mistake).

Radial Balance Example by Christy Berry

Radial Balance Example by Christy Berry

Then I painted the negative space with acrylic paint.

Then I outlined the negative space with a small brush.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

Leave a Reply

