52 Paintings: Week 4 and Week 5

Greetings,

Snapshot_from_Wikipedia_of_The_Angelus,_1857-59This week I created two paintings.  The first one I didn’t like at first (I fixed it so it’s all good now).  A few weeks ago, my middle school students created self-portraits using a stain glass type painting style.  What I mean by that is that they drew the face and outlined it with black paint.  They then painted different colors for each section.  I couldn’t get this out of my head so when I created my first painting it bugged me so I created my second painting.

Stain_Glass_Rose_by_Christy_BerryNow, I like to recycle and found a “painting” at an antique place. It was a reprint of The Angelus by Jean-Francois Millet.  I hope he is not rolling over in his grave because I painted over this reprint.  It had a frame, I couldn’t resist.  I thought no big deal if this one doesn’t turn out, so why not try it in a different style.  So I painted it in a stain glass style.  I liked how it looked, but now the frame did not match the painting. Thus, I painted the frame.  Now, it is ready for somebody’s home.

Small_Stain_Glass_Rose_by_Christy_BerryOk, so back to the first painting.  It was still bugging me, so I went and tried to duplicate the style on the little canvas.  It turnout; however, I still like the second painting because of the smooth surface.  My paintings are for sale, so if you see something you like please contact me.  I would like to keep supporting my painting habit.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

Leave a Reply

