52 Paintings in 2013: Week 2

Star_Flower_By_Christy_BerryTaking the advice of another art teacher, I created art over my Christmas Break.  Well, it took longer than that.  This is the four foot by three foot painting that I have been slowing painting.  I have spent weeks working on this painting; a couple of hours almost every night for the last three weeks.  I am excited that it finally finished…. I think.  I am at the point of if I add another line I ask myself, “Will it take away from my image or add to it?”  That is usually my stopping point.

I also did a lot of looking at the image to check and recheck what needed to be added.  I have created a short video of the progress of my painting.  I took a photograph after every night to show the progress of my monstrous project.  Please enjoy the clip video.

I used:

  • Acrylic Paint
  • Variety of Brush sizes
  • 3 weeks of time
  • 4 foot by 3 foot stretched canvas

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia Burns
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 17:24:37

    Nice! great idea to do a video–nice sense of process.
    From a photo? a real flower?

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 18:18:55

      Claudia,

      Thanks! It’s from a photograph that I took of a photograph in the Best Buy Store on an Ipad. I don’t know what the flower is called. I asked one of the employees and he said, “Out of all the questions you could ask in this store, you want to know what the name of the flower is called.” I said, yes. He didn’t know.

      Artfully,
      Christy Berry

      Reply

Leave a Reply

