The Creative/Artistic Process: Part 1-Questions

It has been a bit since I last posted a blog.  I’ve been working on a few projects for next fall and will post them they come together.  At the beginning of the summer an idea started to form around in my head:  what is the artistic process?  I want to teach my students how to think creatively and how to create art using the artistic process.  So began my quest to understand the creative/artistic process.  For me it’s just something that I do.  I haven’t really sat down to analyze the steps that I take.  So taking a cue from Pooh Bear, I sat down and thought about it over the summer.  I did a bit of watching YouTube videos, and recording my own process of start to finish of my own artwork.  This is what I have found so far:

This video is from Steven Berlin Johnson, writer of Where Good Ideas Come From (A book that is now on my wish list). It’s a short four minute video where Steven Johnson speaks and draws at the same time.  It is fast past, so you might want to watch it more than once.

Then I found this gem of a video.  It’s called The Creative Brain (ep. 12)- Charlie Rose: The Brain Series. This video is a bit longer (54 minutes) but Chuck Close is part of the interview panel discussing the brain.  I took away that there is a certain amount of creativity in everybody and that creating art is not always a onetime deal.  That there will be some works of art over the artist’s lifetime that will be duds. And it’s ok.

So after watching these two videos I am left with many questions.  As I come across answers or more questions, I’ll post more in the series.

  • Where does creativity come from?
  • What does it mean to be creative?
  • What is creative?
  • What is the creative/artistic process?
  • Is it different for different disciplines?
  • How can I teach my students to be creative or be creative thinkers?
  • What does the creative process look like in children vs adults?
  • What role does outside influences/environment play in creativity and the development of creativity?
  • What does a creative environment look like?
  • What makes one person more creative than another?
  • Is there a difference?
  • What role does brain development play in creativity?

At this point I’m not real sure that actually is a definitive answer because many different artists approach creating art differently.  If you know an answer please post a reply below.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

Leave a Reply

