Mind Mapping Assessment That Makes Sense, Part 1 and 2

Screen Shot of Christy Berry's Prezi

My assignment for my writing class was to create a mind map of the article Assessment That Makes Sense, Part 1 and 2 by Steve Peha and summarize what was written.  I might have gone overboard on making my mind map and summary (summary below).  A mind map is a way to incorporate a main idea and ideas that are formed around that main idea.  It’s a visual representation of ideas.  How I organized mine was with the main idea and then part one on the bottom and part two on the top.  I then bubbled out each article to a main thought.  From there I further dived the information into content and examples.  This format is followed for each article.  The process would have been much faster if I wrote out the information on paper and scanned the document for my professor.  I think in mind maps when I am reading or organizing information so using a Prezi format fits this assignment very well.  However, it is terribly time consuming, especially with a Macbook and no mouse.  The handwriting font was picked because I still wanted a feel as if it were written by hand.  Click here to visit my Prezi.

Steve Peha is the author for Effective Learning Series.  I was looking at articles from the Effective Learning Series; specifically, issues 34 to 39.  These issues focus on assessment.  The examples are directed towards writing; however, the general principles could be applied to any content area.  The articles look at what is authentic assessment, what it is, what it is not, and how do teachers put it all together.

As with everything I am looking at the articles with a wary eye and asking myself does this make sense?  I would mostly agree with the articles because I already have background knowledge that supports what is written. There are few places I would like to know of the background information that supports the claims.  For example, from issue 37 Steve Peha said, “If we use criteria merely as another form of grading, we’re confusing the issue and hurting our kids.”  I need more information on this statement.  I recognize the format is snippets of information presenting in a newspaper; however, I would like to know of data that backs up these claims.

Now, that I have addressed my wary eye, let me say what I found interesting in these articles.  I found the Steve Peha’s statement in Issue 39 to be most profound,” Students who are not exhibiting strengths need different work to do.”  I do this in my classroom; however, I never thought of it this way.  I take an art lesson or concept and zip it up or down depending on the grade level and who is in my classroom.  I also adjust what I do from classroom to classroom depending on the students.  The nature of my content area also allows for students to work at their level on a project.  The last statement that struck a cord with me was from Issue 36 where Steve Peha said, “There’s nothing more frustrating than knowing something is wrong and not knowing what to do about it.”  I think this quote is a life quote, not only in regards to education.  It is important that if you know what is not right to have a plan to make it right.  Without the plan students shut down and their motivation disperses.

Artfully,
Mrs. Berry
Leave a Reply

