104 Days of Summer Vacation: Beading

Necklaces I made this summer

I make no claim to be an expert at this.  If fact, my attempts at making beads almost when up in flames.  Ok, not really but I did get burnt.  I started making necklaces with my daughter last summer.  Since I posted images of my necklaces on Facebook, my mother purchased beads for Christmas presents.  Needless, to say, I have a new hobby.  This is a great way to sneak math into the summer because you are counting and creating patterns.

1. Read A Book About Jewelry

I have seen lots of books about jewelry making.  I don’t have one specifically to recommend.  So find one that you like.  If you know of a good book let me know.

2. Make A Necklace

This one is fun.  There are no rules on how to make a necklace as long as you like it and want to wear it.  I have tried a couple of different materials for string: string, stretchy stuff, fishing line, and hanging wire for frames.  My last several necklaces have been made out of hanging wire.   This spring, I was wearing one of my favorite necklaces and my youngest daughter pulled on it and the fishing line snapped it in half and beads were everywhere.  I was very sad and discourage.  I had extra hanging wire and thought maybe give this a try.  So far, she has tugged and it hasn’t come apart.  Here is a short video clip about how to make a necklace.

3. Use Recycled Materials

I was walking in JoAnn Fabrics the other day and I was walking down the button isle for no apparent reason.  I thought, hey might it be cool if I used a button for a middle.  I was looking for a large one that wasn’t to cheesy.  I picked this particular button because it was made from recycled materials.  I thought that was pretty nifty.  I tried a few different ways to attach it before settling on the way I strung it to the necklace.  I might try a different way next time.

My daughter making a bead

4. Make Your Own Beads

I don’t have all the fancy jewelry making materials, just a whole lot of glass seed beads.  So I thought why not try to make my own beads.  I tried using the shrinky dink type stuff.  There is where I got burned.  I forgot to wear gloves.  Then I tried using Modge Podge and scrapbooking paper.  That didn’t work out so well either.  I just didn’t like the look of the bead.  I guess; I like the glass kind.

My daughters' handprints

5. Make Your Own Middle

Ok, so the necklace is way cheesy but being a mom, I just love this.  I took both my daughter’s hands and painted them and put them on shrink dink and then shrunk them.  Before shrinking, I did punch a whole so I could string them.  I used this as the middle for a necklace.  I didn’t get burned when creating the middle.

Have fun creating a new accessory!

-Mrs. Berry

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: For People Who 104 Days of Summer Vacation: Beading « Berryart's Blog

Leave a Reply

