Information Overload

It is the attack of information.  It can be big and scary. I find the following commercial just too funny not to share.  When working with students this could be how they feel when they are looking for relevant information on a project.  Personally, some days I feel like this since my PLN is expanding.  Even though this commercial is for Bing, I am using iGoogle as part of the PLN Challenge #6: iGoogle –A PLE hub for your PLN wheel.

iGoogle reader screenshot

I set up my iGoogle, I am still working out all of the different buttons.  I did find that I could upload my own photo into iGoogle and turn it into a theme.  If anybody wants to use it, it’s called My Flower Collection.  These three paintings are in a series of 4.  I am currently working on the last one.

I like the idea of having a spot where everything is.  That way I am not jumping or typing in the web address every day to see what is going on.  It’s nice an organized.  I just wish my comics could be directly put onto the page. May be in a few months, they will be allowed to be directly sent to iGoogle.  I find that having twitter available on the page is wonderful.  I created a tab just for Twitter.

Now, I just need to get into the habit of checking my iGoogle reader.  Students could use this like their own personal newspaper/magazine.  They could find articles that are relevant to what they like and subscribe to those articles creating a higher interest in reading.

Have a great day!

-Mrs. Berry

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise Krebs
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 19:06:22

    Christy,
    Nice post! The title drew me in! I am constantly in information overload. I liked the iGoogle challenge too.

    You make a good application for students with their own iGoogle pages. I wish my students had their own laptops so they could have their own personalized iGoogle accounts. The students really like iGoogle and have fun with some of the gadgets, but many students in a day sit at the same computer so it’s not really personalized.

    Denise

    Reply

  2. Theresa
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 21:04:34

    Mrs. Berry,

    I know what you mean by information overload! It’s nice to have a place where you can organize it and separate it a bit. I check my iGoogle a lot, and I’m glad there was a challenge on it because I always will find another trick I didn’t use before. I have 4 pages on my iGoogle: Home, Feeds, Groups, and Pictures. It’s still not perfect, but when is it??

    That would be great if your comics could be added – if you can find the feed for it, it can be manually added!

    How often do you find yourself on Twitter?

    Have a good one!
    Theresa
    http://techcsrn.edublogs.org

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jul 10, 2011 @ 21:17:43

      Theresa, I have three that I really like. I will look to see if I can find them. Thanks. I recently added twitter to my iGoogle. I have been on twitter for about two weeks now. I can be found at @MrsBerryArt.

      Reply

  3. Kathryn
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 21:07:49

    Christy
    Having just read your flower post its great to view this one and see your flowers as the igoogle photo. I never knew you could personalise it so much. I like the beach photo I chose but nice to know I can personalise more when the mood strikes me.
    Kathryn

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jul 10, 2011 @ 21:22:42

      Kathryn, I like to personalize my technology. The only thing I can’t is the background on my computer. My husband changes it back; usually to the Hubble telescope images.
      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

  4. Jo Hart
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 05:21:29

    Hi Christy

    I love the way you have personalised the page with your gorgeous header image! I always like to use my own header on things. Having everything accessible in one place is such a help – I tend to think of the iGoogle as my summary spot that I can access from anywhere.

    Checking regularly until it becomes a habit is always the thing I find hardest about taking up a new tool/activity/strategy. I do have iGoogle set as my browser homepage on my laptop at the moment – as an experiment – but I prefer something impersonal as a browser homepage in case of unauthorised access.

    Jo

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jul 11, 2011 @ 07:34:43

      Jo,

      I hadn’t thought about the unauthorized access before, probably because it’s summer and I am on a home computer. But that is something to keep in mind when I go back to school. Thanks!

      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

Leave a Reply

