30 Day Challenge: Personal Learning Networks

I am starting the 30 Day challenge through Edublogs: Personal Learning Networks.  I know; I’m on a WordPress blog platform.

All the cool stuff I have found has come from the Edubloger website, so I thought I would try another challenge and see how it could fit into the classroom with reading and art.  I am looking for inspiration even if it doesn’t come from a formal professional development day.  The artist Grant Wood said, “My best ideas have always come to me while milking a cow.”  So here I am looking for others and ideas.  The first challenge is to write a post about PLNs.  Ok, so what is that?

For me a PLN is people who are looking to learn something new and network with each other to share their ideas.

I tried this website called VoiceThread for the first time.  I think it’s pretty neat because now you can hear what others actually sound like.  I just love to hear the different ways people sound.  Here is the link for the VoiceThread for this challenge.  I am the giraffe.

Now that you have participated it is time to make your own.  For a tutorial on how to useVoiceThread click here.

VoiceThread Screen Shot

A VoiceThread is useful for teachers because this could be used for students who have missed class due to illness or who are traveling.  I created a video with Animoto on how to create a flower.  I have shared this with students in my classroom.  Afterwards we discussed if there were any comments or questions.  Students who are out of the classroom could also participate by watching the videos and my comments and then add their own. Click here to link to my example that I have made. The lesson is an introduction to looking at a flower and painting it. Please feel free to comment.  I am still playing with the features.

Enjoy making your own VoiceThread!

-Mrs. Berry

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina Schmidt
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 17:15:00

    Hi Christy,
    Welcome to the PLN Challenge! I didn’t know what a PLN was until a few weeks ago and now I am having fun learning and connecting with other teachers in this challenge.

    I agree that Voicethread is really a neat tool. I like your example showing how to paint the flower. I hadn’t thought about using Voicethread and/or Animoto as an instructional tool. I will have to keep that in mind. It would be an easy way to create tutorials for showing how to use different Web 2.0 tools. I could use them to introduce my new students to the tools each year. Here is an example of a Voicethread that I made with my 3rd grade students this past year. http://voicethread.com/?#u1784487

    Have fun in the challenge!
    Tina
    http://tschmidt.edublogs.org/

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jul 06, 2011 @ 01:35:27

      Tina,

      Thanks. I went to your VoiceThread and I just love your student’s outfits. What a clever way to have students use adjectives and art. I am going to add that one to my list of possibilities.

      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

Leave a Reply

