104 Days of Summer Vacation: Finger-painting

1. Paint a flower at 6 in the morning

Small Rose Painting

I woke up early this morning on my first Monday of summer vacation.  I was awoken by the fussiness of the little one.  I calculated that since I was up why not paint.  So I made a little painting.

Well, it wasn’t too long after my daughters wanted to join in.  Now, my youngest (17 month old) decided to take a brush and swish her brush in the water too.  Then she thought it might be fun to dip the brush in the paint too.  I’m thinking to myself, “that’s cute.”  Well, not two seconds later her hand is in the paint that is on the pallet.  Now mind you it’s acrylic paint.  Not so cute anymore.  I quick grab some baby wipes and take the paint off her hand, clothing, table, and face.  Goodness it was all over before you could blink.

2. Finger-paint

After getting her all cleaned up I thought why not let her finger-paint with washable finger-paint outside.  I did that because the look on her face while she was getting her fingers into the paint was priceless.  Naturally, being an art teacher I have that stuff handy.  We go outside and I open the jars and let her have at it.  What a fun mess.  I made a video for finger-painting with a toddler.

Materials:

  • Washable finger-paint
  • Paper 12 x 12
  • 1 toddler
  • 1 understanding parent
  • 1 bath (to wash afterwards)
  • 1 camera

 3. Make a scrapbook page

I am waiting for her picture to dry so I can make a scrap-booking page of her first painting.  The painting is going to be the background and the pictures of her finger-painting will go on top.

Remember:

“Life is Messy.  Get into Art!”

-Mrs. Berry

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 02:40:47

    How wonderful to engage children at a young age to the world of art!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

