To Smile or Not to Smile?

I am trying the first free website (wallbuilder.com) through the 30 day teacher challenge.  If you click the link you will be directed to the challenge with directions for this program.  The program is pretty self-explanatory and it does not take too long to figure out the ins and outs.

Tips:

  • Once you have your wall address you cannot go back and change that part.
  • Title picture needs to be kept small if you upload your own image.

As a part of my curriculum my seventh grade students need to ask/generate questions about artwork (Mona Lisa).  I also want my students to be able to use online technology to do this.  I thought I would have students try this instead of using paper to record their questions (trying to save the earth and my budget). This way each student could also see their classmates’ questions. I set up the page to have their questions come to my school email because I want to monitor their questions.  I will also be able to assess their questions this way.

Here is an example of what my students will be working with.  I picked the denim background because it is the same as the bulletin board background that I use in my classroom.

Questions About Art from Wallwisher

 Two other ways that this could be used in the classroom

  • I would also use this like a word wall where students could post their own descriptive art words that they think of during the course of the year.
  • I would also use this for students to find images that could go along with a particular element of art or principles of design.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna Bring
    May 01, 2011 @ 07:54:28

    Hi,
    I really like your ideas for using Wallwisher. I have also tried it out, but I had problems with loading my account/wall on several occasions. Have you experinced that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

