Flipping Over Online Flip Books at Do Ink

When you are procrastination and want something fun to do this website is a spot for you.  Remember making flip books as a kid, and it took you forever to get the drawing just the way you want.  Do Ink is where you want to go.  Well, this program lets you copy your drawing and then change only a small part.  This saves you some time, but it’s so fun you will spend hours with the program.  You need to sign up for your own account.  It’s free.  I have listed the up and downsides for using this online program.

Downside:

  • Your work becomes their property
  • Time consuming!!
  • It takes a bit to get used to the program (watch the tutorials first and save yourself some time)
  • There is a cost if you want to use a premade “prop”
  • If you make an opps with your drawing and publish it, then you can’t go back and fix it (my mouse ear has holes)
  • You need to be 13 years old

Upside:

  • There is a spot where you can undo what you just did (hint it’s at the top)
  • There is a spot to save
  • It’s a lot of fun and if your drawing is cheesy nobody will notice because the animation part makes it move

Here is my first attempt:


After I watched the tutorials here is my advertisement for my blog.  Yep, several more hours were spent on creating this.  I tell my students never to put a “cheesy” sun in their picture.  A few days ago a student told me that he thought of a way around this.  He told me that you could put holes into it and then it would be a cheesy sun.  So I made my cheesy sun (there are stink lines for the sun rays) and a sleepy mouse for my animation.

Ways that you could use this in the classroom:

  • Students could watch a short cartoon and list all the jobs that would be associated with creating a cartoon
  • Students could write their own stories and create illustrations
  • Students would write out an explanation for their artwork.
  • Students then could be critics and evaluate another’s animation (give guidelines if critiquing classmates)

Enjoy making your own animations!

-Mrs. Berry

P.S.  I skipped a bunch of challenges and went for one that looked like a lot of fun that I could use in the classroom.  It’s from the Teacher Challenges: Free Tools Challenge #6: Exploring DoInk – Vector Images and Flash Animations.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle Wilson
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 21:29:59

    I’m glad you jumped in and tried DoInk. It really is fun, and my students still enjoy creating things with it. I love to have a large tool bag of options to use with my students.

    Reply

    • berryart
      Apr 21, 2011 @ 10:28:23

      It was a lot of fun to make. My daughter now wants to try to make her own. I would like to see a teacher’s version of this program. Currently, several of my students do not fit the age requirement.

      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

  2. Karen
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 13:04:36

    Thank you for exploring DoInk & sharing your experience. We love seeing teachers use our tools & introducing it to their students. Please e-mail me anytime if you have questions or if I can be of any help. Thank you! Karen@doink.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

