Self-Portraits and Frida Kahlo

When working with students and creating self-portraits I read a couple of different books about Frida Kahlo based on the age of my students.  Every year, I have my art students create self-portraits, each level does something a bit different.  I want my students to be able to draw accurately and know a little bit of history with self-portraits.  The focus artist that I picked to go along with this unit is Frida Kahlo.  I love her work; it’s very distinct and different.  Kahlo’s work can be graphic so the problem is picking books, poems, and images that are grade level appropriate.

These are some of the books that I use with my students.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Frida by Johan Winter and illustrated by Ana Juan I read this book to first and second grade students because the story gives a little bit of history about Kahlo.  I also like the images because they reflect Kahlo’s work without the graphic nature of her work.  While reading the story I do tell the students that the page with the volcano is how she feels and there really wasn’t a volcano during the bus accident.

I Love My Hair by Natasha Anastasia Tarpley and illustrated by E.B. Lewis This book is new to my lesson this year with my first and second grade students.  I am adding this book because we will be adding textured yarn for hair.

Frida by Camen T. Bernier-Grand This book is a book of poems about Kahlo’s life.  What I love about this book is the use of Frida Kahlo’s paintings. Because Kahlo’s painting and her life are not elementary or even high school student friendly sections of the book do need to be censored for a school setting.  At the end of the book lists a chronology of Frida’s life.  There is also a glossary and sources page. I have read several of poems (student friendly) to my students. My third grade students wanted me to continue to read more of the poems. They were sad when I stopped.  The poems seem to be written as if Frida Kahlo was speaking to the reader.  This book is very intriguing.

If you would like the lesson plan that I use for this unit please click on my Self-Portrait Prezi.  I have also included a link on my side bar of this blog.

“There is nothing more precious than laughter.  It is strength to laugh and lose oneself.” Frida Kahlo

-Mrs. Berry

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. remember the shadows...
    May 23, 2012 @ 20:56:44

    Interesting quote about ‘precious laughter’. Never read it before. Thx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

