Once upon a time . . .

My daughter and Myself infront of an Inuksuk

There was an art teacher who wanted to present information about the Inuit people and their art to her second grade art students.  She wanted to make her presentation fun and interesting.  So she tried a couple of different ways to tell a story about the Inuit people.

First she made a power point and found that easy to do.  By attaching her power point to the blog, she found that this took up her blogging space. Inuit power point

Next she tried to upload and share her PowerPoint with SlideShare but found it disappointing because the sound effects and the nifty slide animations did not transfer. 

She also tried to put her power point on YouTube and found that the turning a power point into a movie takes a way from reading the slide slowy. It also snowed five inches in the time it took to download the movie to YouTube.

Finally, she became engrossed by prezi.  She found that she could write out a lesson plan in an artistic way, and add images.  Because when she plans her lessons ideas are not always linear.  She can now plan out ideas on an infinite canvas. She is currently working on this document.  The meat of the document is there.  She is working on adding scoring opportunities and vocabulary words.  Her only critique of the program is that spell checking needs to be done the old fashion way with a dictionary (or using word and copy paste).

.prezi-player { width: 550px; } .prezi-player-links { text-align: center; }http://prezi.com/bin/preziloader.swf

Please check out my Prezi.  This lesson is geared toward second grade students; however, the projects could go as high as high school with modifications.  Also check out my book review of Smiler’s Bones.  I also made a video to go with the book talk.

-Mrs. Berry

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. murcha
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 21:39:52

    Hi Christy – it is you and me that are frustrated with wordpress. It just does not allow html code as such. Some online tools have developed the code specially for word press and if you google for help on embedding slideshare etc there is some extra pieces of code to add to it. I tried that and it still did not work for me.
    So, to save all my frustrations, I just provide a link to where the video etc is housed and hope that people will take the time to go to the link and view.
    However, I plucked up all my courage to insert a number of photos into word press as a gallery. Therefore, I just kept on uploading them without inserting any individual ones in the post. Instead of choosing insert gallery, I tried slideshow and here is how it looks http://murcha.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/happy-chinese-new-year/
    So, if you want to try that and see if the slide transition times are long enough. Goto your powerpoint file, save it all as jpg, insert each jpg slide into your gallery. Then goto the images, insert slide show. Is the delay long enough to read. If now, provide the link as well and people can get the gist of what it looks like, and then go to the link to read it all. Does this make sense? I also succeeded in getting one of my videos to embed in wordpress. I used vodpod, ie uploaded my video to vodpod, grabbed the wordpress code and it worked. I think that you can also google and find out how to add a youtube video to wordpress, followed the altered code suggestions and it worked. See http://murcha.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/a-classroom-without-walls-google-teacher-academy-application/
    How did you get the polldaddy to embed? At least that worked, so there must be more that we can use. Please let me know how you go. The tools that did not work in your post. Go back and edit and provide a link rather than show your attempt at embed code and I will see if I can find out how we can get more into our blogs.

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 29, 2011 @ 23:49:22

      This is how I ended up with getting a poll into a blog. I clicked on the polls tab on the side and created a new poll. When I am writing a blog I click on the little circle by the insert picture/video/ect. icons at the top in the menu. I then check on the poll that I want. Next I chose send to editor for the choices underneath the poll of my choice. (It sounds weird but it works). Thanks for the help.

      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 01:50:38

      Thanks so much!!! I am just excited that I got this to work. Yea! a big thank you to you!

      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

  2. Kathryn
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 02:30:40

    Mrs Berry
    Loved your prezi and I voted! I have never used prezi but your lead has inspired me to make that a ‘must explore’.

    Looked at your You Tube Smiler’s Bones. What did you use to make that in? I have left a link on my blog after your query about Photostory so that you can listen into a book trailer which is different to a book review but you will still get the idea. It is so good to see what other people are trying.
    Kathryn

    Reply

  3. murcha
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 02:41:27

    Hi Mrs Berry
    I got it to work! If you register for a slideshare account, upload your ppt presentation to that and follow the instructions that I wrote on my blog post How to embed slideshare in wordpress you will be able to upload the presentation. Do you have a slideshare account?
    Second, I was putting in a photo gallery, when I noticed that there was slideshare option so I ended up getting a nice slidshow in wordpress as well. See Happy Chinese New Year Will any of that be okay for you to use? Please let me know and thanks for the instructions for the poll. I will try that out too.

    Reply

  4. Elaine Willis
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 11:56:53

    I don’t know how all of you wonderful people find the time to use these tools. I am so “fragmented” I never seem to be able to concentrate on one thing long enough to really learn how to use it.

    Prezi has been on my “I have got to learn more” list for a long time. I think I will move it closer to the top.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Posts of the Week – Visit these blogs- Weeks 3/4 | Teacher Challenge
  6. eslbeth
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:28:45

    WOW! What an amazing post! Thanks so much for sharing! I am really impressed with how many different ways you tried. I, too, like Murcha, and yourself, am really bummed about how hard it is to use HTML in my blog. There are so many workarounds…

    Reply

  7. Kim Y
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 10:52:44

    Mrs Berry

    Congratulations on not giving up! I am impressed that you tried so many different tools to achieve your goal.

    I have watched some Prezis and felt a bit “seasick” watching them. You’ve done a great job with yours!

    Kim 🙂

    Reply

  8. Trackback: 104 Days of Summer Vacation: Camping « Berryart's Blog

Leave a Reply

