Scene It?

I am definitely an image person; especially, when it comes to TV shows or movies.  If I have seen the movie, I can tell you what it is usually in less than five seconds from any point in the movie.  I can remember movies, but can’t seem to find where I put my car keys the night before.  Go figure.  I am an image person, not a place person.

When working with students something to keep in mind is that students may or may not know what a particular symbol or image means.  This being said, it can also go the other way.  New image vocabulary was added to my dictionary when I worked with alternative high school students.  Students need to understand what images they are using and why those images are important to their blog or story.

Things for students ask themselves when adding an image to their blog:

  • Does this image help or distract from my message?
  • Does my image match what I am saying?
  • What movie rating would my image receive?
  • Will people associate this image with me, if I post this?
  • What does this image say or mean?
  • Did I give credit where it is due?

I wrote on what is visual literacy and why it is important a few posts ago.    I also have an art/writing lesson that discusses this topic.  It’s the print media lesson  If you would like to read more on the subject please click on the links.

One of my favorite spots in my hometown.

I have included a slide show of my hometown as part of the challenge.  I tried the animoto slide and was totally geeked by this program.  I am half tempted to purchase the upgraded subscription for this website.  I’m pretty cheap when it comes to stuff online.  I love FREE and easy.  And this program is easy to use.  There are little bubbles that pop up help you find buttons.  I tried to include a little bit of everything; however, there is so much to do in our little town that the free version is just not long enough.

I hope you enjoy a 30 second view of my hometown.  Click on the picture or the link to take you to the movie.

-Mrs. Berry

P.S. I am trying something  to see if I can embed this video.
http://static.animoto.com/swf/w.swf?w=swf/vp1&e=1295872030&f=JQ2UkJh1C3hMIj4H36c3Aw&d=35&m=a&r=w&i=m&options=

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jana
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:33:44

    The video was nicely done! The pictures and music go seamlessly together and really give the viewer a window into who you are. I can’t wait to get started on my video.

    Reply

  2. janellewilson
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 01:08:00

    Did you know they have animoto for education? It gives you a free pro account, and an access code that you can share with students, so they can have all pro features as well. You have to apply, and it does take a week or two to get a response.

    By the way, my parents lived in Midland, MI for a while in the early 1970’s.

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 01:41:15

      Thanks! I did not know they had a free pro account. Goody! I just love our town. Lots of things to do for my children. A couple of years ago we added an outdoor baseball stadium. It is lots of fun to go to a game. We are called the Loons.

      Reply

  3. Kathryn
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 02:56:11

    Christy
    Fabulous post. Just played your Animoto. We chose the same music! However our topic was the same so I guess that figures. As Janelle says Aniomoto for Education is fantastic.
    Kathryn

    Reply

  4. katenz
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 04:50:44

    Christy
    Me again. Firstly while it looks like you can’t get the clustr map, an alternative is the Feedjit one that shows on your side bar who has been visiting. I have that working in WordPress so must take that.

    Secondly, Animoto does the mixing! Once you get your Education pro, there is a lot more choice. Good fun with it.

    Also sorry you have such trouble commenting on my blog. Going around I have to say Blogger is hardest of all blogs to leave comments on. I have it open at this point at the most open level, but obviously still a pain. Every platform has their Grr! aspects!
    Kathryn

    Reply

  5. murcha
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 09:49:26

    G’day Christy, Fabulous post with some great points for students to consider when using images. I am working on limited interent access for a few more days, so will have to look at your animoto when I get home. However, did you find that part where they offered code to embed into your blog post. Grab the code, click on the html code tab in your blog post writing area and paste the code in there. Then return to visual and your animoto will play within the blog post. Let us know if it works.
    ps I always have trouble finding keys and my glasses too!

    Reply

  6. Malyn
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 10:03:55

    As usual – catchy title! I forgot about this when I did mine.

    I used to work for Dow Corning in the IT Department (Analyst/Designer, Project Manager) and used to go to Midland a LOT, stayed at Marriott and went to the local shops. I can taste that bagel now. I can tell you, I haven’t found bagels here in Australia as good as I got them there.

    Reply

  7. Kirby
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 21:34:02

    Thanks for posting this and your link to your post on the importance of visual literacy! I’m a very visual person too, and LOVE making great interactive displays in my room! Sometimes I just hate taking them down! I also like the questions the kids need to ask themselves when posting a picture! Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Carol Satta
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:19:54

    Hi Christy,

    Enjoyed learning more about visual literacy from you and have inserted links to your posts in my blog post about images. I’m still composing it, but when I finally publish the post, you should get 2 pingbacks. Loved what you did in Animoto. I’m going to explore that tool. Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Kay
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 11:18:00

    Animoto is lots of fun. I enjoyed your hometown video. I love the questions you have your students ask about images they place? May I use those with my students?

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 11:29:14

      Of course! Anything I put on the blog is meant to be shared with everybody. I love sharing ideas. Because if we each have an idea and we both share that idea. then we both have two ideas.

      Reply

  10. Laurie Fowler
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:33:43

    This was an AWESOME post! I loved the links to the lesson plans and quickly put them into my Delicious account. I also liked the Animoto you did of your hometown. My post on this topic can be found here http://lauriefowler.blogspot.com/2011/01/pictures-really-are-worth-1000-words.html.
    Let me know what you think.

    Laurie

    Reply

  11. Anna Bring
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 09:05:01

    Love the Animato. I have to try it out as well. Thanks for sharing it with us!

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad ©? | Webster Christian School Library Blog
  13. Nancy
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 14:41:02

    I think your movie about your hometown is so sweet! I will try Animoto!

    Reply

  14. Nancy
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 14:42:16

    I don’t understand how to leave a link to my blog. I’m going to leave one in here and see if it works.

    http://mrssarno.edublogs.org/2011/01/29/art-gallery/

    Reply

  15. Pam Thompson
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 09:16:57

    Isn’t Animot great? I’m using the education account version and whilst it doesn’t have the same choices as the pro account it has more than the standard, so a nice compromise. We used it to show our art work on our blog (http://thompson67.edublogs.org) and used the procedure that Anne suggested in her comment. It makes embedding the video super simple.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

