What’s in a name? That which we call a rose.

What would Shakespeare’s avatar look like if he was around today?  Would he use Romeo, a rose, a pen, or something else?  We create our own avatars to represent who we are.  Some people use photographs of themselves, pictures, or objects to represent their personalities.  For challenge four, I tried creating my own avatar with Picassohead.

The program I tried was from Picassohead.  I even had my students try this program today.  They really liked how easy and fun it was to use.  I am using this as a part of a self-portrait lesson.  The only problem is if you make a mistake (like forget to add your name) you can’t go back. Here is my attempt at using Picassohead: Mrs. Berry by Anonymous.

Berry's Avatar

My avatar is a painting that I created of a giraffe.  I really like this painting. It hangs above the fish tank and every time I look at it I smile. I also like giraffes.  The reason why I prefer to have this as my avatar is to show my personality. Sure, a picture is like a thousand words but they may not be the thousand words that I want to share with everybody else.  As a teacher I am acutely aware that what I post can be shared with the whole world, including my students. I like to keep a professional line with a sense of humor attached; thus the painting of my giraffe.

When students are creating blogs or putting out their ideas having a symbol or avatar to represent who they are (in my humble opinion) is a better or safer approach.  Not only would I have students create their own avatar I currently stick to the no photograph policy with students. When I have my 6th grade students create a pop-art self-portrait I do not post their beautiful artwork online because it is too real to whom they are.  So you will need to take my word for it that their projects are really wonderful.  If you stop by my school, you could see their pictures hanging in the hallway.

RSS Feeds

I really haven’t in the past used a feed to read blogs, articles, or news.  My attention span allows me to jump from site to site to site and site again with no problems.

-Mrs. Berry

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Britt Gow
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 21:40:03

    I really love this painting for your avatar – it gave me my first smile of the day too! I am glad you used Picassohead with your students – it is a great, fun activity for part of a self-portrait unit.
    I haven’t used RSS feeds much yet either, but with all the great new blogs I am discovering as part of the Blogging Challenge, I might just have to investigate further.

    Reply

  2. janellewilson
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:02:50

    I love your giraffe painting. I wish I could go to art class! 🙂

    Personally, I am a huge fan of RSS readers. I am so busy, that I do not have time to keep up with the blogs I follow any other way. Plus, I can browse through the posts, and click to the actual blog if it looks like something I want to know more about. I currently use Google Reader, and it is really easy to set up.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Posts of the week – Visit these blogs -Week 2 | Teacher Challenge
  4. Malyn
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 00:39:13

    I love the giraffe painting – made me smile, too. As for your PicassoHead, it would seem we have the same hair as you can see in my PicassoHead.
    You’ve got a flair for art as yours look remarkable. Admittedly, I’ve always struggled with abstract.

    I hope you see me and my post on Avatars (not the movie).

    Reply

  5. Kay
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 01:05:20

    Wow! What a giraffe. I love it. I also had fun with picassohead today. I’m passing it on to our middle school art teacher as soon as we get back to school.

    I agree with Janelle. I could never keep up with all the blogs I read (120 student blogs, various author blogs, various book review blogs, a couple of agent/writing blogs, and now teacher blogs) without Google Reader. It’s very easy and lets me skim through lots of posts and the click to the blog if I want more.

    Reply

  6. Stacy Nockowitz
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 02:40:25

    LOVE the giraffe painting! What would Shakespeare’s avatar be? Interesting question. I like to think he’d choose something quite out-of-the-box. Not a rose or a pen, but something more like who he thinks he is inside. My post for this challenge is at: http://somenovelideas.typepad.com/some-novel-ideas/2011/01/identify-yourself.html

    Reply

  7. Kathryn
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 04:13:35

    Christy
    I really love your giraffe too, and can understand that smile each time you look at it.
    Thanks for your link to the pop art portrait post. I have bookmarked it, because I want to use this idea for an art activity when my students return to school, so thanks for including that.
    My students have avatars. I/We do allow photos on blogs, but not so they are linked to a particular student. So I might put the work in a slideshow or animoto, or some such. Really grateful for this idea. Thanks.
    Kathryn

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 16:23:18

      Kathryn,

      If you need anymore ideas, I have lesson plans on my website at: http://www.wix.com/caberry/berry-reading-and-art-lessons. I used these lessons in my art classes. I am trying to incorporate more reading and writing into my classes. My website is still under construction. If you have any ideas or feedback, let me know.

      -Mrs. Berry

      Reply

      • Kathryn
        Jan 21, 2011 @ 22:41:18

        Thank you for that I have bookmarked it. I am always wanting ideas I don’t have to think up too much myself!

        Also re your comment to me on my blog. I have been to Minnesota briefly, but to be honest I was not long enough in the USA to distinguish accents in various areas, except the south of course.
        Kathryn
        P.S. you can pick up very adequate mics very cheaply for a computer!

  8. Luciana
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 11:22:51

    I had already tried VOKI, but loved Picasso Head, Ss of Spanish will love it, too. Thanks for the ideas.

    Reply

  9. Kevin Hodgson
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 11:12:48

    I like the pop art idea — of taking your image and reconstructing it, and that definitely would be a good way to lead into creating avatars with students. And yes, sense of humor is great!
    Kevin

    Reply

  10. Elaine Willis
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 15:09:08

    Have a look at BeFunky. You can upload photos and add all sorts of effects to them. It also has a download link, so you do not need to screen print them.

    I have used Google Reader for years. I spend way too much time on it and I need to purge my feeds desperately. I am just scared I will miss something if I do.

    Information junkie, anyone?

    Reply

  11. Nancy
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 17:09:41

    You bring up important concerns about blogging with young people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

