Bubble Bubbles Are Everywhere To Pop

I tried something new called the bubbl.us. There were some pretty cool features when I was making a brainstorming map that I use with my third grade students.  I’ll get back to that. These are my first impressions.  I could be missing something.

Pros of using the website:

  • It is easy to move the bubbles from one bubble to another
  • The color automatically changes depending on the connection
  • The color of the bubble can be changed
  • The arrows stretch automatically to wherever you drag your bubble
  • You can zoom in and see what you have created

Cons of using the website:

  • It was frustrating at first to pop a bubble I didn’t want (They seem to multiply like rabbits)
  • As a free user you only receive 3 sheets

Despite my frustration level with multiplying bubbles I can see how this could be a useful and fun tool for students to use in the classroom.  I would probably use this with higher level group at first and then partner up students who have had experience with bubbl.us.

Possible Uses in the classroom:

  • Sequencing activity (time line)
  • Brainstorming
  • Compare and Contrast
  • Pros and Cons
  • Generating Questions and Answers
  • Character Analysis
  • Analysis of anything (time, place, plot, ect..)

3rd Grade Brainstorming Activity

For leveled instruction a pre-bubble sheet could be created.  To try out the bubbl.us site, I have created a brainstorming activity for my third grade students. Here is an extreme shorten version of a way that I use this type activity.  After reading the story Tar Beach I have them fill out a brainstorming sheet.  Then they use this as their plan for drawing their pictures and writing their story.  I said it was short.  This type of activity helps my students plan out what they want to draw and write about.

Enjoy trying to create or pop your own bubbles.

-Mrs. Berry

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 01:52:50

    Thanks for sharing your experience with the site. I haven’t had a chance to play with it yet, and your post helps me focus on what I might expect and how Imight use it.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Posts of the week – Visit these blogs -Week 2 | Teacher Challenge
  3. Claire Cheeseman
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 03:12:50

    Love this post on the bubble mind map app – particularly love the list of pros and cons and uses for the class – just what a teacher wants.

    Reply

  4. Jana
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 07:14:07

    I love the layout of this post. It is very teacher-friendly: pros, cons, uses in the classroom.

    Reply

  5. murcha
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 09:48:23

    Your title is very captivating and it is great to see your critique of the software, with the touch of humour. They have changed their format and until they did you could have as many bubble sheets as you like. That is a great shame. Hope they bring out an educational version.
    As to getting links to your blog post to work in comments back on the Teacher Challenge Page, they mostly work for me and sometimes dont. Everyone understands and you are much better off putting the full link in to make sure people can find wonderful posts like this.

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jan 22, 2011 @ 14:18:36

      Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. I am still going to try and figure out how to do the link thing. I am learning new computer technology things with every challenge.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

