Beware of Giant People Eating Mental Blocks

An image that I created to help unstuck mental blocks.

Today’s challenge is about effective posts.  Oh, dear there it is… I’m being attacked by a mental block. It’s pretty big and purple. I’m sitting here trying to think of a way to make my blog effective.   It happens to the best of us and our students.  We get stuck.  There are a couple of ways around this.  First way is to find a blog that is effective.  True North Arts by Kathryn Antyr is a blog that I thought was effective in giving me ideas for my classroom and my blog.

The blog is effective because:

  • It tells you step by step instructions on how to create a character map or personal map.
  • The title for each step is in bold if you want to read that section.
  • There are several pictures at different stages included to help with visual people
  • There is a list of materials that you need if you want to make it on your own.

Tip on writing an effective blog:

  • Have a title that gets people to your blog.  You read mine didn’t you?
  • Add a tag.  Do this to get more readers to your site.  Pick a tag that is not to general and not to specific.  Just like Goldy Locks, make it just right.
  • Make your content match your title and tag.
  • Make it easy to read and break up the text into sections so that a person could read your main ideas and get the point.
  • Add pictures or content.  This helps draw the reader in.

So if you or your students are under attack from a mental block, here are few ideas on what to write about for your blog.

Effective blog ideas:

  • Write a step by step project
  • Write about something unusual
  • Write about something that is ordinary in a different way
  • Write about something that you care about
  • Write a review on something relevant to you

-Mrs. Berry

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Posts of the Week – Visit these blogs – Week 1 | Teacher Challenge
  2. Kathryn
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 23:16:24

    Christy
    I enjoyed your post. Thanks for the link to the True North Arts blog. My teacher mind goes into I could……. with my students when I read through it. Never mind about even what I could do.

    I notice you included the right tags. I totally forgot about that, and you are so right, so I will be remembering that.
    Kathryn

    Reply

  3. Kay McGriff
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 01:21:38

    I love the title of your blog post. I too often go for the obvious rather than the creative title. I also like the list of possible types of blog posts you could write. That’s something I could share with my students to help them with their giant people eating mental blocks.

    Reply

  4. MrDCarson
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 02:24:56

    I enjoyed reading about your suggestion for possible blog post. Oh the purple idea eater, often visits my class. I’ll share you ideas with them to help motivate them to defeat this monster.

    Reply

  5. murcha
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 09:44:58

    I loved your title too. It immediately caught my attention and aroused my curiosity so that I continued reading. The blog post you shared was great and stimulated my thinking into how I could apply this into my classroom.
    As to tags, I encourage my students to add as many tags as are appropriate to the post. These tags are picked up by the search engines, drive people to your post and encourage networking. I had a student who made a digital movie using text only, on “What makes a good teacher” She added all those words to her tags and her post was discovered by a university professor in the USA who teaches student teachers. The professor left a comment back on her post to thank her for the movie and that she was going to show this movie to her Education students so that they could understand what younger students look for in a ‘good teacher’.

    Reply

  6. berryart
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 02:21:00

    Thanks everybody,

    This one was a fun challange.

    -Mrs. Berry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

