To Wordle or not Wordle that is the question?

I have never heard of a Wordle until today.  This is a nifty little program that takes your list of words that you use and turns it into a word cloud.

These are some of the words that I use in my classroom

  • Step 1
  • Click here to go to wordle.net.
  • Step 2
  • Generate your list of words you want to use.
  • Step 3
  • Press go.
  • Step 4: optional
  • Play with the different formats, colors, and positions.  If you don’t like a word, hover over the word and delete it.
  • Step 5
  • Save your Wordle.

Applications for Wordle

  • Students are able to use vocabulary words that they are learning about in a content area and create an image with those words and the definition.
  • Students could take a character in a book and list all of the descriptive words associated with that character.
  • Students could use descriptive words to describe themselves.
  • If there is not access to a computer students could still create their own Wordle by drawing/writing the words in an interesting way.

For my Wordle, I used phrases that I use in my classroom.  I then changed the color and font.  I picked Grill Cheese font because I like to eat that sandwich.

Enjoy using Wordle!

-Mrs. Berry

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. murcha
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 11:11:15

    Glad you liked wordle. I really like it. It is a great visual analysis of text which students like to use. It is great to introduce new terms, to revise terminology etc. There are some alternatives, but I find wordle is the easiest and the most effective.

    Reply

  2. Janelle Wilson
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 13:47:05

    What a great post. I am really impressed that after learning about Wordle today, you wrote a post on how to use it.

    Reply

  3. Kathryn
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 19:45:04

    Hi Mrs Berry
    Yes I had my first go at using wordle in the first challenge post. I am ashamed to say some of my students have done so in the past, but I just didn’t have the time to do it. But I will be doing it in the future a little more often. Good ideas you give to start with, so I must store those in the back of my mind.
    Kathryn
    New Zealand

    Reply

  4. Marsha Ratzel
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 23:38:20

    Hey…I think it looks terrific…like you’re an old pro. Congratulations.

    Look forward to getting to know you and hear all about the things we all face in conquering in this challenge.

    Cheers,

    marsha

    Reply

  5. Stacy Nockowitz
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 02:41:48

    If you like wordle, try tagxedo! It’s wordle with shapes. Check out my Teacher Challenge post and you’ll see my apple-shaped tagxedo. So fun!
    http://somenovelideas.typepad.com

    Reply

  6. Kay
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 13:27:48

    I love wordle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

