Stop Drop and Read

 

I thought that this might be a neat idea for our school to do, or any school for that matter.  I make no claims for the title; I might have heard it or read it somewhere else.  I suggested that we have everybody read on the last Friday of every month.  Hmmm, let’s see how this idea goes.  I’ll keep you posted. -Christy

Ok, an update.  At this point we will not be doing this at my school.  I am a little sad; however, I look for other opportunites to bring literacy to my students.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kylie S
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 19:53:20

    What do you envision for this reading time? I am assuming students read a little bit every day, so are you suggesting an all day reading activity?

    Reply

    • berryart
      Sep 15, 2010 @ 22:35:50

      The main idea is to have all teachers on the last Friday of the month do a reading activity that is not driven by curriculum for a half an hour. Teachers could have guest speakers, they could read, or students could read. The possibilities are endless as long as they are reading. The idea is to have students read and see adults reading.

      I haven’t heard if we are going to Stop Drop and Read. Several other things have come up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

