How to Make No Sew Rag Dolls

Part of my class was to create a Multigenre Project.  I happened to pick rag dolls.  In a MGP project it’s about depth and not coverage of content.  Click here to be brought to a website that covers more in-depth information on MGPs.  Here is my attempt at this type of project.  Naturally, I pick a topic where I can’t find very much information on the topic.  Please leave a comment if you know of any information about rag dolls.  At the end of this post I included my three documents as PDFs. For the MGP you need a table of contents, an introduction (Lucy’s Letter), at least three documents written in different genres with fact base creative writing. (The doll is not actually missing.) So here is my attempt:

Hi! I’m Lucy,

I wanted to let you know about something called the Rag Doll Project.  This project (which is me) was years in the making.  Rag dolls have been played with over the centuries by children all over the world.  They have been made many different ways and usually out of scraps.  I finally arrived when Mrs. Berry put me together with fabric scraps, yarn, rubber bands, and markers.  Mrs. Berry attended a workshop on how to make no sew (my preferred way to be created) rag dolls.  Since then Mrs. Berry has scoured the internet, library, fabric store, online bookstores, friends, and people in her network for information on rag dolls.  Frankly, there is not a lot of history on us.  We have been found throughout the world but nobody writes about us.  One of us was found in Egypt from the 1st-5th AD century.  We are just part of childhood and then we are forgotten, we also fall apart and disintegrate.  So I have here to set the record straight and maybe get attention to me and my fellow rag dolls of the world.

Mrs. Berry put together all of the information she could find on rag dolls.  She included a missing poster for one of my fellow dolls who went missing yesterday.  If you have any information please contact The British Museum.  She is quite delicate, being so old and all.  Mrs. Berry also found a photograph were another one of my special friends was spotted.  We don’t end up in the news or in magazines very often.  She was keeping Lillie company despite her lifestyle.  That’s what we do.  We keep children company and give a sense of comfort.  The little girl was writing home to her mom to describe what was going on in her life. Finally, Mrs. Berry created her own how to guide on how to make rag dolls.  The guide is fairly easy to follow.  She also included a picture map of each of the basic steps.

Playfully,

Lucy

Rag Dolls

missing rag doll

Lillie with rag doll

I have made a short video to watch on how to make a no sew rag doll.

Artfully,

Mrs. Berry

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna Kapnoullas
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 18:31:11

    Hi Mrs. Berry,
    I really like this no sew method. Great for integrating into a cultural humanities program.
    Thanks for the idea and awesome YouTube tutorial,
    Anna

    Reply

    • berryart
      Apr 14, 2012 @ 22:10:25

      Anna,

      Your welcome. Since this post, my daughter keeps making more and more of them. She is having fun naming them and creating new outfits. Hours of engagement and fun.

      Artfully,
      Mrs. Berry

      Reply

  2. Darby C.
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 13:17:01

    This is cool! I will most definitely try this. Thank you! And the tutorial was very clear.

    Reply

  3. Ciara Allen
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 13:17:54

    This is great! Lots of fun, soft and super easy to make. Most of the tutorial was clear but the part about the arms wasn’t. Can you explain it for me please? But anyway thank you for such a great way to make a rag doll. So much easier than sewing!

    Reply

    • berryart
      Sep 04, 2012 @ 06:00:02

      Hi Ciara,

      I am glad that you like the dolls. The arms are the smaller piece of fabric. You roll the fabric and then place them in between the split of the legs. Then rubber band it again so they don’t fall out. That’s it on the arms.

      Artfully,
      Mrs. Berry

      Reply

  4. Chris
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 16:22:04

    Mrs. Berryart,
    You’re a great genius. I am just beginning making dolls. It’s great for you sharing how the make dolls the faster and easier way.

    Reply

    • berryart
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 17:18:27

      Thanks Chris,

      I learned this technique from another art teacher at the Michigan Art Education Association’s Fall Art Conference.

      Artfully,
      Mrs. Berry

      Reply

  5. marylou
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 00:42:49

    Mrs. Berryart,
    I want to babysit this 4 year old girl and I would like for her to learn how to do it herself. Anyway, I don’t have fabric glue for the hair. Is it completely necessary?
    -If not, what is a good substitute?

    Reply

  6. marylou
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 14:24:42

    Mrs. Berryart,
    Thank you so much for your help
    happily,
    marylou

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

